About Alameda County Public Health Department

What is Public Health?

Alameda County Public Health Department has an array of programs and services designed to protect the health and safety of County residents. The backbone of Public Health includes assessments of the health status of residents, disease prevention and control, community mobilization and outreach, policy development, education, and assurance of access to quality medical and health care services.

To be effective, we actively seek community involvement - partnerships with grass roots and corporate entities, with individuals and groups. In fact, partnering is a key component of our mission.

Alameda County Public Health Department covers:

  • 13 cities: Albany, Emeryville, Alameda, Piedmont, Oakland, San Leandro, Hayward, Union City, Fremont, Newark, Dublin, Pleasanton, Livermore, and unincorporated areas. City of Berkeley has its own health department.
  • 1.67 million residents.

Our location
We are headquartered in San Leandro.

Our staff
We have 600+ employees - public health nurses, doctors, epidemiologists, dentists, medical social workers, physical and occupational therapists, dietitians, outreach workers, health educators, program managers, pre-hospital care coordinators, among others - working in four divisions and four large units:

Additionally, we have four major units that support the department:

Click here to view our Organization Chart.

Terms of Use  |  Privacy